Home  >  Departments  >  Pharmacology  >  News: Pharmacology  >  

A manuscript published last year by Drs. Zhengyu Cao and Tom Murray with collaborators at the University of California at San Diego has been selected for the 2010 Schwarting Award, which is considered by the Journal of Natural Products editors and an independent committee to be the top paper of the year. This paper was entitled “The Hoiamides, Structurally-Intriguing Neurotoxic Lipopeptides from Papua New Guinea Marine Cyanobacteria.”

In 2001, the Foundation Board of the American Society of Pharmacognosy began a new initiative, the Arthur E. Schwarting and Jack L. Beal Awards for best papers in the Journal of Natural Products. In this manner, two former distinguished editors of the journal are fondly remembered. The Schwarting Award is open to all papers published in the journal within a given year (either in print or electronically)

A two-tier process was used to determine the winners for papers published in the Journal of Natural Products in 2010. Editors Daneel Ferreira, A. Douglas Kinghorn, Richard G. Powell and Philip J. Proteau nominated two papers each for the Schwarting Award and one each for the Beal Award. Cedric Pearce, new Associate Editor for the journal in mid-2010, provided one selection each for the Schwarting and Beal Awards. ASP President John Beutler then appointed an ad hoc committee (Ben Shen, Chair, Shmuel Carmeli, Mark Hamann) to make the final selections.


The Hoiamides, Structurally Intriguing Neurotoxic Lipopeptides from Papua New Guinea Marine Cyanobacteria
Hyukjae Choi, Alban R. Pereira, Zhengzu Cao, Cynthia F. Shuman, Niclas Engene, Tara Byrum, Teatulohi Matainaho, Thomas F. Murray, Alfonso Mangoni, and William H. Gerwick
J. Nat. Prod.; (Article); 2010; 73(11); 1411-1421. DOI 10.1021/np100468n