Home  >  Departments  >  Pharmacology  >  News: Pharmacology  >  

Creighton University School of Medicine faculty members met Jan. 19 for the fourth annual Faculty Club to recognize and celebrate excellence in research at the School of Medicine.

The event was held in the Mike and Josie Harper Center for Student Life and Learning ballroom. Featured were 40 poster presentations on basic science, clinical or translational research currently underway at the school. Authors were available to talk about their respective posters, 6-7 p.m., and an awards ceremony began at 7:45 p.m.

Attendees voted for the top three research poster exhibits. 

The winning projects and authors were: 

• Translational Research: Yaping Tu, Ph.D., on “Regulator of G-protein Signaling 2 is a Key Modulator of Airway Hyperresponsiveness”.

• Clinical Research: Tony Pesavento, M.S., on “Surgical Procedures Performed on Disseminated Cancer Patients in NSQIP: 30 Day Mortality, Surgical Complications and the Increased Risk with Oncology Emergency Procedures”.

• Basic Science Research: Kristina Simeone, Ph.D., on Pathologic Hypocretin Circuitry: A Novel Mechanism of Sleep Disorders Associated with Epilepsy in Kv1.1 Knock-Out Mice”.

“The objective of this annual event is to create a high-energy, collegial atmosphere that fosters new connections among faculty. Faculty Club helps keep faculty members abreast off their colleagues’ most recent and important research activities, encourages collaborative partnerships, and hastens the pace of discovery at the School of Medicine,” said Tom Murray, Ph.D., associate vice president for health science research.

Pictured in the photo are (left to right) : Drs. Tu, Murray and Simeone, and Mr. Pesavento.