Education & Research
School of Medicine  >  Awards Presented at Golden Apple Event

The Golden Apple Awards Banquet was held on April 20, 2013.  Jack Yee, Ph. D., professor and chair and Thomas Pisarri, Ph., D., assistant professor, both of the Department of Biomedical Services were named winners of Golden Apple awards, presented by the School of Medicine's classes of 2016 and 2015, respectively. The award recognizes School of Medicine faculty for excellence in teaching and dedication to patient care.  The 2014 class presented John Schmidt., M. D., assistant professor, Department of Pediatrics, with the attending physician award and Richard Arms, M. D., Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, with the resident award.

Other awardees included:

  • Special Contributions Award to Jan Stawniak, R. N., education director of the Clinical Assessment Center, School of Medicine, Office of Medical Education.  
  • Aesculapian Award to Natasha Pyfrom (Class of 2013), Sarah Bly (Class of 2014), Sarah Henn (Class of 2015) and Becky Davies (Class of 2016). The award is presented annually to one student from each class year for exceptional dedication and service to the class, the school, community and patients.