Education & Research
School of Medicine  >   Creighton Medical Student Receives National Scholarship

Natasha Pyfrom, a Creighton University medical student from Omaha, will receive a Physicians of Tomorrow Award and Foundation Scholarship from the American Medical Association (AMA). The honor is based on academics, financial need and community involvement and is available to fourth-year medical students nominated by their respective medical schools.

Community and University service activities have been an integral part of Pyfromís education. She was a teacher at the Health Careers Opportunity Program Summer Academy at Creighton, for high school and undergraduate students. She has volunteered at Siena Francis House since 1997, Kidís Kingdom since 2008, and supported numerous other tutoring, mentoring and healthcare activities. She has participated in Creighton Medical United in Relief Assistance (CURA) mission trips to India and the Pine Ridge Reservation.

A member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., a private, non-profit organization which provides assistance and support through local communities throughout the world, she also has held leadership roles in several University committees. She is a past president of the Student National Medical Association (SNMA) and is a member of the schoolís admissions committee. 

While at Creighton Pyfrom has been recognized with other scholarships including the Deanís Diversity Scholarship, the Nebraska Medical Foundation Student Leadership Scholarship and the National Coalition Black Women Education Scholarship. In 2010 and 2011 Pyfrom was the recipient of the Dr. William Hines Scholarship for her academic achievement.  

Pyfrom, a mother of two, expects to graduate with a medical degree in the spring of 2013 and plans to become a urologist. Before entering medical school, she was a certified family teacher for two years at Boys Town. She received her bachelorís in biology from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

The AMA Foundation focuses on assisting medical students with the rising cost of medical education. The Physicians of Tomorrow Award was created in 2004 to provide financial assistance to medical students facing medical school debt. The AMA Foundation has awarded more than $61 million in scholarships to deserving medical students since 1950.