Endowed Chairs

School of Medicine Endowed Chairs and Professors

Students, staff and faculty at Creighton’s School of Medicine benefit from working side-by-side with some of the world’s most talented scholars: our endowed chairs and professors.

The Peekie Nash Carpenter Endowed Chair in Medicine (1992)


The Dr. Harry E. Stuckenhoff Endowed Chair in Surgery (1993)

Robert J. Fitzgibbons, Jr., MD’74, FACS, Chairholder
Professor of Surgery, Chief of General Surgery Division




The Dr. Roland L. Kleeberger Endowed Chair (1996)

Amy McGaha, MD, Chairholder
Professor and Chair, Department of Family Medicine
Director of Interprofessional Clinical Learning Environment in the Center for Interprofessional Education, Practice and Research (CIPER)


The Tenet Healthcare Endowed Chair (1998)


The Dr. Harold J. Bonnstetter Endowed Chair in Preventive Medicine (1999)

Brian W. Loggie, MD, CM, FRCSC, FACS, Chairholder
Professor of Surgery, Chief of Surgical Oncology Division,
Director of Cancer Biology Program

The Dr. & Mrs. Arnold W. Lempka Endowed Chair in Surgery (2001)

Marcus W. Balters, MD, Chairholder
Associate Professor
Program Director, General Surgery Residency

The Charles F. & Mary C. Heider Endowed Chair in Cancer Research (2004)

Robin Farias-Eisner, MD, PhD, Chairholder
Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Director of the Hereditary Cancer Center


The Sheila and James J. Shea Family Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology (2006)

Charles Youngblood, MD, Chairholder
Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology



The Dr. Paul S. Mahoney Endowed Chair in Radiology & Medical Imaging (2008)


The August H. Bergman, MD Endowed Chair in Cardiology (2008)


The Dialysis Clinic, Inc. - J. Dan Egan, M.D., Endowed Chair in Nephrology (2012)


The O’Brien Endowed Chair in Health Sciences (2016)

*Alternates between School of Medicine and College of Nursing every 5 years.

 Robert R. Recker, MD, Chairholder
Adjunct Professor, School of Medicine


Richard L. Deming, MD Endowed Chair in Medical Humanities (2019)